Featured

September – October Happenings

newsletter_autumn

Thank you to everyone who was able to attend the Town Club Opening Tea! It was wonderful to see familiar faces and meet so many new ones as well. We all enjoyed a wonderful morning of socializing and delectable nibbles. Thank you so much to Trina Kincey for organizing this wonderful morning and Jennifer Marotta for graciously opening her home to us.

Upcoming Events

Please visit President’s Corner and view the September-October Happenings newsletter and learn more on how to get involved in some of the great activities and events we have coming up!

October Daytime Book Club: Euphoria by Lily King

euphoria-book-cover

Join us for a potluck lunch and lively discussion. Newcomers, new members are invited and most welcome!

Event Details

Please RSVP to Jen jlmarotta@gmail.com and bring a potluck dish to share.

This month we’re reading Euphoria by Lily King.  About the book:

Euphoria is Lily King’s nationally bestselling breakout novel of three young, gifted anthropologists of the ‘30’s caught in a passionate love triangle that threatens their bonds, their careers, and, ultimately, their lives. Inspired by events in the life of revolutionary anthropologist Margaret Mead, Euphoria is “dazzling … suspenseful … brilliant…an exhilarating novel.”—Boston Globe

Awards for Euphoria:

  • Winner of the 2014 Kirkus Prize
  • Winner of the 2014 New England Book Award for Fiction
  • A Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award
  • A Best Book of the Year for: New York Times Book Review, Time, NPR, Washington Post, Entertainment Weekly, Newsday, Vogue, New York Magazine, Seattle Times, San Francisco Chronicle, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, The Guardian, Kirkus Reviews, Amazon, Publishers Weekly, Our Man in Boston, Oprah.com, Salon

 

October Wine, Women, and Wit Book Club: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

me-before-you

Join us for a fun and lively book/movie discussion. This book club focuses on books that have been made into films. If you don’t have time to read the book, just watch the movie!  Then come on over for a relaxing evening of wine, dessert, and good conversation.

Event Details

For more information and to RSVP, please contact Book Club Chair, Archana, at archana.p.mehta@gmail.com. Feel free to bring wine or your favorite drink, but don’t feel compelled to every time.

In October, we’re reading Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. About the book: 

They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

Fall Potluck Brunch and Service Project

brown-bag-lunch

We’re hosting a Potluck Brunch with a do good twist

Bring your favorite brunch dish to share and help us assemble brown bag lunches for SHIP (Summit Helping Its People) in Summit.  SHIP provides over 15,000 meals to at risk and homeless people in Morris County. With our combined lunch making expertise, this should be a piece of cake (or quiche) for us.

Join us on Thursday (why should Sunday get all the fun?) October 20, 10am-12pm at the Community Church of Mountain Lakes– 48 Briarcliff Road.

Visit our Sign up Genius to let us know what you will bring and we will see you there!

Sign Up Now!

Questions? Contact Programs Chair – Nancy Scherger

Young Child Playgroup

playgroup-png

New this year!

We are starting to organize playgroups for those with children 4 years of age and younger.

Be on the lookout for more information to come but in the meantime please reach out to Trina Kincey if you’re interested in learning more.