September – October Happenings


Thank you to everyone who was able to attend the Town Club Opening Tea! It was wonderful to see familiar faces and meet so many new ones as well. We all enjoyed a wonderful morning of socializing and delectable nibbles. Thank you so much to Trina Kincey for organizing this wonderful morning and Jennifer Marotta for graciously opening her home to us.

Upcoming Events

Please visit President’s Corner and view the September-October Happenings newsletter and learn more on how to get involved in some of the great activities and events we have coming up!

Fall Potluck Brunch and Service Project

Potluck Brunch with a do Good Twist

On Thursday, October 20th, Town Club members gathered at the Community Church of Mountain Lakes to assemble 40 brown bag lunches for SHIP (Summit Helping Its People) in Summit.  SHIP provides over 15,000 meals to at risk and homeless people in Morris County.

With our combined lunch making expertise, this was a piece of cake (or quiche). We then treated ourselves to a pot luck brunch.

fall-program-5 fall-program-6fall-program-7

If you have any suggestions for future programs or service projects, please contact Nancy Scherger


2016 Holiday Boutique


Be sure to visit this year’s boutique on Thursday, November 3rd at The Mountain Lakes Club.

This year’s Holiday Boutique will once again be suited to busy Santa’s helpers with both daytime (10 – 4pm @ $5 admission) and evening (6-9pm @ $20 admission) hours. Your evening admission offers a chance to shop and socialize with friends as you enjoy a complimentary glass of wine and a wide selection of finger foods.

With over 25 vendors, you are bound to find something for everyone on your list.  For a sneak peek our terrific new vendors, and returning favorites click here!

Plan ahead, purchase your Evening Admission online today and save $10 off the ticket price.



Win this beautiful designer bracelet valued at $495!

Tickets are only $10 each, or 3 for $20. On sale now and at the Boutique. The winner will be drawn at the end of the evening. Enter now! You do not need to be present to enter or WIN!

Purchase Raffle Ticket(s): 1 for $10 or 3 for $20

For more information, visit Holiday Boutique.

October Daytime Book Club: Euphoria by Lily King


Join us for a potluck lunch and lively discussion. Newcomers, new members are invited and most welcome!

Event Details

Please RSVP to Jen jlmarotta@gmail.com and bring a potluck dish to share.

This month we’re reading Euphoria by Lily King.  About the book:

Euphoria is Lily King’s nationally bestselling breakout novel of three young, gifted anthropologists of the ‘30’s caught in a passionate love triangle that threatens their bonds, their careers, and, ultimately, their lives. Inspired by events in the life of revolutionary anthropologist Margaret Mead, Euphoria is “dazzling … suspenseful … brilliant…an exhilarating novel.”—Boston Globe

Awards for Euphoria:

  • Winner of the 2014 Kirkus Prize
  • Winner of the 2014 New England Book Award for Fiction
  • A Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award
  • A Best Book of the Year for: New York Times Book Review, Time, NPR, Washington Post, Entertainment Weekly, Newsday, Vogue, New York Magazine, Seattle Times, San Francisco Chronicle, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, The Guardian, Kirkus Reviews, Amazon, Publishers Weekly, Our Man in Boston, Oprah.com, Salon


October Wine, Women, and Wit Book Club: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes


Join us for a fun and lively book/movie discussion. This book club focuses on books that have been made into films. If you don’t have time to read the book, just watch the movie!  Then come on over for a relaxing evening of wine, dessert, and good conversation.

Event Details

For more information and to RSVP, please contact Book Club Chair, Archana, at archana.p.mehta@gmail.com. Feel free to bring wine or your favorite drink, but don’t feel compelled to every time.

In October, we’re reading Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. About the book: 

They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?